Jan 27 – Week 2

This week was so awesome!!!
So many things go on at the MTC, I have never been so productive in my life.
We just got three new “investigators” that we have to teach in Spanish, so we are pretty busy! We also taught 2 actual members a little lesson on Monday, and that was so fun to just get to know these people!! Our Spanish is really improving, and even though my companions and I get discouraged sometimes, we are really helping each other a lot!
SO we found out this week that one of my companions, who is going to Argentina, is actually leaving next week on Thursday! We are so excited for her 🙂 We are planning a “slumber party” which basically means we’ll raid the vending machines the night before she leaves and probably stay up helping her pack!
We had a missionary leave Monday morning for Argentina from our class, and everyone in our class and the 2 classrooms next to us, so our whole zone, sang God Be With You Till We Meet Again and we could all tell it really touched his heart! We’re going to miss him – he was our district leader, so he kept things running smoothly. The new Elder who is the district leader is so incredibly funny, so we are all excited for him! Also, the Elder who left, his companion is now in a trio, and it’s funny because one of the elders who is in the trio and him have an ongoing joke about being arch enemies, so we’ve already gotten many laughs out of that already!!!
My teacher and I were practicing this week on contacting someone in the street. She told us to meet the people, let them now how the gospel of Jesus Christ will change there lives, and really make them feel the truth of that statement. She pushed me harder than any teacher had so far, and before I knew it I was just saying things in Spanish faster then I ever had before. I knew the message I was sharing was true, and when I read a verse from the Book of Mormon, she started tearing up. Even though she is my teacher and already has a testimony, I really felt the gift of languages work in that lesson, and I felt a reassurance that when I need to say something in Spanish, God will be there to help me 🙂
Being in the MTC is a change. You get up at 6:30 every day and go nonstop. But I love it here!! Everyone is changing into the best people they can be. They are truly growing closer to God, and you can feel the spirit of God in everything you do. I’m so glad I have the opportunity to be here! I got to watch a talk by Elder Bednar about Christ’s Characteristics, and it touched my heart so much! Christ always turns outward to other people, even when he was going through the Atonement. That is how I want to be, I want to be able to focus on others even when I naturally just want to focus on me! The devotional that night also talked about being truly converted, and I know that is my next goal. I don’t want to just know this church is true, I want to know it and change my actions based on that. I really want to live the Gospel of Jesus Christ to the fullest I can!!
4 more weeks before I leave the U.S.A! I can’t wait 🙂
Love,
         Hermana Miclyn Noorda
IMG_3003
IMG_2986

~Hermana Miclyn Noorda
Leave a Reply

