Feb 3 – Week 3

Hello family and friends!!!
This week was wonderful!!! So many things happened! First off, one of the Elders in our district brought in some Mexican candy. It was a mango lollipop coated with chili powder, and there was more chili powder in the bottom of the bag. We all tried some….and I’m sorry to say, I was not a fan. BUT after we gagged over the chili powder and got to the lollipop, it was delicious! However, some Elders decided to try to swallow the rest of the chili powder – they had it in their mouths for about 30 seconds before they all spit it out in the trash can. It gave the rest of us a good laugh though 🙂
This week, my companions and I invited two of our fake investigators to church, and they both accepted!!! That was awesome. In one of our lessons, we talked about the Spirit and prayer, and the we all felt God’s love so strongly, we all started to tear up a little bit. That’s when you know a lesson is good, when the investigator can feel God’s love. I can’t wait to get out in the field and help people feel that!
Spanish is getting easier and harder. I’m more confident in speaking but also realizing how many mistakes I make…I know that if I work hard at it though, God will help me to learn what I need to learn to be an instrument in His hands!
Sadly, one of the districts in our zone left on Monday and Tuesday. We got up at 4 o’clock this morning to help bring the rest of the Hermana’s luggage to the travel office. It was so sad to say goodbye to our friends, and to the people who had helped us through our first days at the MTC, but they are all going to be amazing missionaries in Panama and Costa Rica.
While I was there at 4 in the morning, my district leader walked up to me in his red pajamas and handed me a letter. It’s funny because the old district leader and now him always joke about how they are my personal letter carrier because I get a lot of mail, and here I already had a letter at 4 in the morning. By the way, thank you to everyone who has emailed or sent a letter…I really appreciate it!!! I look forward to reading my mail at night right before I go to bed. It really makes my day!
Finally, last night we had a “Family (more like District) Home (more like far away from home) Evening” and my teacher asked our zone leader to do 10 pushups for everyone in the district so they could get a treat. Eventually, she would say things like “Now, Hermana Noorda needs a little more help – can you do 15 more pushups?” and then “How many pushups would you do for your companion?” And our zone leader replied “As many as I need to.” We compared this experience to Christ suffering for us on the cross. It really struck me because I was impressed that my zone leader was nice enough to do 15 push ups for me, but then I realized that  Christ was willing to die for me! In that moment I could truly feel the Savior’s love for me.
 I know there are people out there who don’t know how much Christ loves them, and this is why I’m on this mission! I want everyone to know that Jesus Christ loves them so much he died for them, and provided a way for them to repent of their sins and become clean again. The Atonement is so special, and I don’t think we will ever be able to comprehend the Savior’s love for us. But I’m glad that I had that small moment to feel his love for me and the rest of my district, and I can’t wait to bring that message to the world.
Con Amor,
             Hermana Miclyn Noorda
An Elder in my district drew a picture of me running
DSC03300
Pictures on Sunday
DSC03323
Companions in front of the temple 🙂
DSC03317
Gym Selfie!!
DSC03301
Leave a Reply

