Week 10 in Paraguay – May 5

This week was crazy! Everyone single day my companion and I collapsed into bed. We contacted much more then we have my entire mission. We have encountered a few people who we think will progress, but none of them went to church this Sunday because, guess what, we had a another ginormous thunder storm! In fact, Hermana Guevara and I woke up to find our roof was leaking, and our study had flooded a little bit…So, we got to work sweeping the water out and putting pans down where it was leaking! Then, we walked all the way to some recent converts house to meet the Primary President and help bring them to church because their mom works on Sundays, only to find no one was ready or wanted to go due to the rain. We were pretty late for church due to the rain, and since it rained so hard, half the ward didn´t even make it to church!
  This time, when we walked to our lunch appointment, we crossed a river that flooded,and this time it was above our knees! I will never forget when my trainer handed me her umbrella and put her hair in a ponytail and said: Well, I´m going swimming, and if I die, tell my family I love them!
   Other then our contacting, we are still working with two investigators, and finally one of them gave us a date…for the day of transfers, which means that even though my companion and i taught her all the lessons, I will ,mostly likely not be able to see her baptism, because I think I will be transferred 😦 On the bright side, we had a little ceremony as she dumped the rest of her coffee out this morning!
   This week I have been thinking a lot about what the Lord expects of us. I love the story of Mary and Martha in Lucas 10, where Jesus visits the house of Mary and Martha. Martha is busy with cleaning the house and preparing the food, and Mary is listening to Jesus. When Martha complained that Mary wasn´t helping around the house, Jesus replied in verse 43 ´Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things. but one thing is needful. and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away.´ I love this story, because it explains so clearly that we may be so caught up in our lives and what we need to do every day, but the most important thing is that we focus on the part that won´t be taken away –  our knowledge, our families, time for the scriptures and church…all these things are of eternal importance, and not just day to day importance.
I love you all. Thank you for the letters, and Happy mother´s Day!
Con amor,
Hermana Noorda
7
A Less Active Member Doing Family History!
Leave a Reply

