Week 13 in Paraguay – May 26

Dear Family and Friends,
  I officially left my first area! Right now I am in Itaugua B, which is GINORMOUS. This transfer was crazy. First of all, my companion and I were white washed, which means we are brand new, both of us, to the area. President took out both of the elders in our area, and put in two new sisters, Hermana Mendoza and I.
First off, Hermana Mendoza is from Paraguay. She is fluent in Spanish and Guarani,but does not speak English. She knows as much English as I know Guarani, which is almost nothing. Luckily, we understand each other about 95% of the time. She is teaching me how to pray in Guarani, which is good, because we´ve already had a lesson completly in Guarani. I´m teaching her to pray in English. She is super nice and we´ve already had a ton to laugh about 🙂
As for the area, we are living in the middle of a busy city, but our area extends all the way to fields. I think if we wanted to walk to the end of the area it would for sure take at least two hours. The other day we walked an hour to the house of a less active member, and she told us that the house of another less active family in our area is ¨…lejo, muy lejos! No pueden caminar.¨  In other words, it´s super far and we can´t walk there. Luckily, there are a good amount of buses here.
When we arrived at the house, we found out that not only is our area huge and we are working in a branch, but that we didn´t have one progressing investigator. Not one. We didn´t even know where to begin!
   We spent the first day few days of proselyting, you got it, asking for directions. But the Lord knows what He´s doing for sure, because on Thursday, we were asking for directions, but then it turned into a lesson, and then we invited her to be baptized, and now we officially have our first progressing investigator! She is 14 years old, and she went to church with us this Sunday, and told us she loved it. We met her whole family Saturday, and her mom invited us to share with the whole family sometime this week. We´ve been praying pretty hard that we´ll be able to teach and baptize this whole family!
     Last night, we arrived at our house around 8 at night to have our personal study. As soon as we got all settled in,the city exploded into noise. Apparently Cerro, the team my companion told me the day of transfers  is her favorite team, won the championships. We went up on the roof of our apartment, and the city was CRAZY. Everyone was dancing in the streets and wearing Cerro tshirts and blasting the theme song of the team. There were people crammed into the back of trunks, blasting the horn and screaming. This went on for about three hours! I love this city so much already. It´s crazy and hectic, but there are people here ready for the gospel,we just have to find them. I know the Lord is guiding us in this work!
 I was a little sad to leave my first area,but I found this poem and it made me realize that I need to focus on my blessings and not on the things I´m missing. It says:
  How Different
Some murmur when the sky is clear
And wholly bright to view,
If one small speck of dark appear
In their great heaven of blue:
And some with thankful love are filled,
If but one streak of light,
One ray of God´s good mercy, gild
the darkness of their night.
I don´t know who wrote it, but President Eyring mentioned it in one of his talks. It reminded me that since I have been given much, I too must give! I hope this week I will always be able to be positive,especially in my tribulations.
Love you all and miss you all,
Con amor,
         Hermana Miclyn Noorda
My New Companion!
IMG_1678
The Sisters in My Zone
IMG_1977


~Hermana Miclyn ​Noorda
Leave a Reply

