Week 17 – June 22

Querido familia y amigos,

De verdad, this week f-l-e-w by! I´m pretty sure I blinked and it was over. First of all, we are preparing Marisol, one of our investigators, for her baptism this Saturday. We are trying to make sure we have taught her everthing she needs to know, all of the commandments of God, and that she is really developing her testimony of Christ. We are also working with all of her family too. It is amazing to see the progress they have made in 5 short weeks since we stopped to ask directions at their store in the center of Itaugua. You never know who is prepared to follow Christ, because if you told my companion and I that this family would accept the gospel in their lives and their daughter would be baptized in a little over a month, we would have thought you were joking!

 Also, this Wednesday we had a conference in Asunción with President Gonzalez, who is in charge of the missions in South America South. It was wonderful to hear the advice he gave the missionaries! What really struck me is that we need to be loving, but also direct. We always need to remember that we are not just sharing a nice little message, but we are talking about the saving of souls! In reality, this is the most important message we can be sharing. He told us to “Treat every opportunity to talk with someone like it is their first and last time to be sitting next to a representative of the Lord.” Well, the message was clear as day: We need to talk to every! So, you got it, for the next two and half hours on the bus ride home, my companion and I talked to lots of people!

This week I was reading in the Book of Mormon in Ether, the story of the brother of Jared. In this part of theBook of Mormon, the brother of Jared and his friends and family built boats to take them across the sea to the promised land (The Americas). They were guided by the Lord to this land but in chapter 2 verse 24 says “For behold, ye shall be as a whale in the midst of the sea: for the mountain waves shall dash upon you . Nevertheless, I will bring you up again out of the depths of the sea; for the winds have gone forth out my motuh, and also the rains, and the floods hav eI sent forth. 25 And behold I prepare you against thes things; for ye cannot cross this great deep saveI prepare you against the waves of the sea, and the winds wich have gone forth and the floods which shall come…”

As I read these verses, I came to realize that the Lord will never take away all our trials. Sometimes we will have “waves dashing upon us” but it also says “I prepare you against these things”. I really know this is true; hard things will happen in our lives, but if we turn to God, He will always prepare us agains these trials. I know this is the Church of God over the earth again. I know Joseph Smith was a prophet, and that he restored the church of Jesus Christ again on this earth. I am so happy I have this opportunity to bear testimony of him all day, every day, for 18 months!

I love you all, and know that I am thinking and praying for you all!

Thank you for your support!

Con amor,
Hermana Miclyn Noorda
Leave a Reply

