Week 24 – Aug 10

Hola!
Okay, this was one crazy week.
We are currently working to reactive 2 inactive families and an inactive sister in our branch, and one family and the sister came to church this Sunday. And the sister came to church without us calling her or visiting her for a whole week, because we were so busy! So that was Miracle Number 1!
As for investigators, we are still working with the family we met a week ago, and 6 of their kids went to church this week, including the baby! So that was nice, but the crowning moment was when their mother came to church for 10 minutes to get a tour of the chapel before she had to go to work! She promised us she will go to church the next Sunday, and we are so excited for her to assist with her kids! I know she will feel the spirit, and will know that this really is God´s church, with all the power of God on the earth!
We are also working with people who have been baptized within a year, and one of the girls told us yesterday that she will try to go to church this Sunday, as long as she doesn´t have to wear a skirt – this is the first time she has every told us she would go to church since her baptism, so this is a huge step for her!
Now for the funny stuff:
I really love this pasta called Nequis here, and we finally found it in the supermarket. Well, I got all ready to make it, and then realized that we ran out of gas, so now we can´t make any food in our house except microwaveable food…so that´s been a little sad 😦
Also, one of the less active families we are working with have a lot of young kids who have taken to calling me Hermana Tinkerbell for my blonde hair. Whenever we walk by their house they yell out “It´s Hermana Tinkerbell!” So yeah, just call me Hermana Tinkerbell! Also, during one of the lessons, their little boy told me my hair looked like a ray of sunshine!
A little boy from the family of one of our investigators also asked me why I had colored eyes…and when I explained to him that it´s because my mommy had blue eyes too, he asked me “But WHY?” I ´m sorry to say I still don´t think he understands!
I feel so blessed to be here in Itaugua, I can see the Lord´s hand in this work every day. I know God is real, and that he wants all of his kids to have the joy and happiness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ in his life. I have come to realize this week that it is not my job worry if people accept the gospel of Jesus Christ. My job is to help them understand the plainess of the gospel, and to feel it´s truthfulness. As Nefi said in 1 Nefi 25:
“…I have spoken plainly unto you, that ye cannot misunderstand. And the words which I have spoken shall stand as a testimony against you; for they are sufficient to teach any man the right way; for the right way is to believe in Christ and deny him not, for by denying him ye also deny the prophets and the law.”
I know that as I testify to people, they will be able to feel the power and truthfulness of my words. Then, it is up to them to accept the Gospel of Jesus Christ and really become his disciple.
I love you all! Thank you for all you your love and support!
Con amor,
Hermana Miclyn Noorda
Leave a Reply

