Week 26 – Aug 31

Hello Family And Friends!

First of all, I apologize for not writing last week. To make up for it, I am going to send pictures! I finally found a computer that can send pictures.

So this week we worked alot along a road called Ruta Ita. It´s a super long road that ends in a national hospital, and has a lot of neighborhoods off the side of it. We are teaching a woman who lives off this road and close to some less active members who we are trying to reactivate. She understands a lot of what we teach, and says it all makes sense. Now, we just need to help her understand the importance of going to church.

A lot of people here understand that church is important, but don´t seem to put it as such a priority to go. We are looking for new ways to teach them that church isn´t something to check of the to do list, but a PRIVILEGE. We are literally priveleged that God commands us to take a day of rest and worship Him! Really, I love what one of the apostles said in our stake conference this Sunday. We should focus on what we can do (and what we get to do) on Sunday as opposed to making a list of things we can´t do, or shouldn´t do.

I know that going to church has blessed my life so much. Not only has it taught me good values, but it has taught me to really rely on the Lord, and to put Him first.

If we aren´t learning to rely on the Lord, we are missing the meaning of life. If we aren´t working towards making sacred promises with the Lord, such as baptism or going to the temple, we are missing the point of our existence!

Otherwise, we had a great conference for our zone in the mission. In this conference, I learned so much about the Atonment of Christ! I learned that if Christ hadn´t atoned for our sins, if He hadn´t suffered for our sins, then we wouldn´t even get to be judged. We would never even have a shot to live with him again, but we would be destined to live forever in our sins, and be sad forever. But because He suffered for us in the Garden of Gethsemane, because He died for us on the cross, and because He came back to life, we have the HOPE that one day we can live with him in the degree of heaven with the most glory, with our families! But it all depends on us. I want to encourage every single one of you this week to really repent of your sins. That means we will recognize our sins, try our hardest to leave them behind, pray to God for forgiveness, try to make it right here on the earth, keep all of the commandments, and accept that it is only through Christ that we can be clean again. Sounds like a lot? Remember that that is really the only thing standing between us and having eternal life with God and our families. It is such a small price to pay for what He did. Plus, when we repent, we get blessings, which means we aren´t even beginning to pay him back for what He did!

I love the Savior. I am so thankful for his sacrifice and his love for me. I love this work. It is not easy, but it was never meant to be easy. We are working for the salvation of the poeple here, and I know there are people here ready to accept the restored gospel, and I am willing to work hard and be exactly obedient to find them and help them feel Christ´s love and the joy of the gospel in their lives. It is worth every hard thing I do here.

I can´t find the half of what I learned in this email, but there is a little glimpse 🙂
On another note, I bought my first pair of shoes here. Hope they last me another 10 and a half months!

Con amor,
Hermana Miclyn Noorda

DSCN5069
DSCN5056
IMG_0143
~Hermana Miclyn Noorda
Leave a Reply

