Week 28 – Sep 14

​Dear Family and Friends,​
Sorry for no pictures, my memory card may have gotten a virus last week, but I can´t seem to send pics from this computer.
Anyways, today I celebrated my 8 months on the mission with icecream from Amandau, a more expensive ice cream store in Itaugua. It was delicious!
This week was super fun, although we didn´t have ANYONE go to church on Sunday. Not one investigator of all 3 companionships of missionaries came. So, this week our goal is to get people to church! I know that once people realize how central church is to God´s plan for us, they will want to go! They will look forward to going to church every week to repent and remember what the Savior did for us.
This week I have been reading through the lessons in chapter 3 of Preach my Gospel.  I especially learned a lot about the Great Apostasy this week. After Christ died, his 12 apostles also were killed, and with them, the power of God to baptize and perform other saving covenants, or promises between God and man, was lost too. In Preach my Gospel page 35 it says “After the death of Jesus Christ, wicked people persecuted the Apostles and the Church members and killed many of them. With the death of the Apostles, priesthood keys and the presiding authority were taken from the earth. The Apostles had kept the doctrines of the gospel pure and maintained the order and standard of worthiness for Church members. Without the Apostles, over time the doctrines were corrupted and unauthorized changes were made in Church organization and priesthood ordinances, such as baptism and conferring the gift of the Holy Ghost.”
I love how this part really emphasizes why we need 12 apostles. Without them, the church of Christ can´t stand. We need them, just as we need a prophet, to help us know the will of God. We need them to keep the church of Christ clean and pure, just like when Christ was here on the earth! There is a reason that Christ called 12 apostles to act in his name, and there is a reason we have these 12 apostles now. In about 2 weeks, in the first weekend in October, we have the chance to hear these 12 apostles and the prophet speak to us. I know that these people are servants of God, called to reveal his will to us. I know that through their words, we can receive personal revelation for our lives, because God loves us and wants us to be happy and have peace in our lives. I want to invite all of you to start preparing now to hear these inspired servants of God, to think of questions specifically that you want answered during General Conference. I invite all of you also to listen to the apostles and the prophet through lds.org or actually going to a church building. I promise you that it will change you life.
I love you all. Thank you for all that you do. I will always be indebted for all your support!
Con amor,
Hermana Miclyn Noorda
Leave a Reply

