Week 40-Dec 14

Dear Family and Friends,

Merry Almost Christmas!

I hope all is going well in your preparations for Christmas. My companion and I put some red decorations on our door to remind us to have Christmas cheer…because it`s hard to remember it`s Christmas when it`s about 100 degrees out everyday! But people have started putting up Christmas lights, so that helps.

This week my companion got sick, so we stayed in the house for one day as she had a fever all day. I learned that I don´t know what to do with spare time anymore. Before I would just relax and do nothing, but in the time that she was sleeping I made lunch, cleaned the kitchen, cleaned out my desk, finished Our Search For Happiness (which is a great book), read a few chapters in the Book of Mormon, and cleaned out our area book. I felt very accomplished but also like I hadn´t done anything since I didn´t leave the house.

Apart from that, we got to visit a less active member who had her baby. Her baby was so tiny, as it was born a month early. It was amazing to see this tiny little creature that had just come a few months before from the presence of God. It gives me awe to think of the fact that we all once really did live with our Father in Heaven, the father of our spirits.

We also are teaching a part member family. The father has wanted to baptized for a while now, but for a couple reasons couldn´t be. It nows looks like he is one step closer to baptism, and his son now wants to start going to church again. We had a great lesson about foregiveness with them. He asked a great question. He had questions about an argument he had had with his sister, and how he wasn´t sure if still being mad at her was a sin. We read this scripture with him in 3 Nephi 12:23-24 when Christ visited the Americas after his resurrection. He said:

“Therefore, if ye shall come unto me, or desire to come unto me, and rememberest that thy brother hath aught against thee –
Go thy way unto thy brother, and first be reconciled to thy brother, and then come unto me with full purpose of heart, and I will receive you.”

I love this scripture. I love the principle of forgiveness. There is power in letting go of a past grudge, in letting the love of Christ fill your heart where hatred and anger once was. Coming to God with “full purpose of heart” isn´t easy. It means letting go of our past sins and bad habits, our past grudges and weaknesses. But we can do it. I testify that there is nothing better than overcoming our sins and becoming pure again through Christ. I know because I have felt it. I have lived it. And I know that you can too.

This season is a great season to pick something and let go of it, to just let that weight go. I invite you all to let go of something, to just give it all to Christ, and He will fill your life with joy and love.

I hope you all have a great week.

Con amor, Hermana Miclyn Noorda

Leave a Reply

