Week 41-Dec 21

¡Hola queridas familia y amigas!

¡Feliz Navidad! ¡Feliz Navidad! Feliz Navidad, prospero año y felicidad 🙂

Okay….I know you are all thinking of the song in your head now 🙂 You´re welcome! But in all seriousness, Merry Christmas to everyone! I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and get to enjoy it with your family. For this Christmas, I`ll be spending it with my Paraguayan family, but just know that I love you all and am looking forward to sharing next Christmas with you all!

This week it really hit me why we celebrate Christmas. We celebrate Christmas because Christ was born. I knew that before, but all of a sudden (well, after 11 months of teaching and learning about Christ all day every day) I have come to learn why Christ is important.

Why is Jesus Christ important?

When I ask people here what they remember from Christ`s life, they all say the same thing. He suffered for our sins and died on the cross for us. Yes. Exactly. But I don`t think we really understand what that means.

Jesus Christ DIED for US. And because He died for us, He made it possible that, through obedience to God, we can become clean again. We can recieve forgiveness for evey bad thing that we do. We can return to live with God Himself after this life!

Because Christ died on the cross, we don`t have to be weighed down with our sins and our weaknesses.

Because Christ died on the cross and then was resurrected, we too will live forever. After we die, our spirits will be reunited with our bodies and we will live forever.

Because Christ died, He has given us hope.

But to die, He had to be born.

In the words of D. Todd Christofforson, a current day apostol of the Lord, he said”(Christ`s) birth was infinitely significant because of the things He would experience and suffer so that He might better succor us – all culminating in His Crucifixion and Resurrection.”

Because Christ was born, we have the hope of living with our families again in the life after death. We have the hope of recieving forgiveness for our sins. The life of Christ changed the world forever. Without Him, we would be lost and hopeless.

I am forever grateful to my Lord for what He did for me. I know that because he was born, and because He loved me so much, He has given me a way to come back to Him. It is going to take hard work, but I know that it is worth it.

I invite you all to take a little time from your festivities, and think on the One who made it all possible for us to be happy in this life and the life to come. I know that is the best way to enjoy Christmas 🙂

On another note, I was transferred to a new area called Salado – It`s right next to the first city I served in, Limpio! I am trying to get to know the area quickly, because this is the last transfer of my new companion, who is from St. George Utah.

I was also called to be an Hermana Lider, so that means that I get to do divisions (spend one day in their area doing missionary work with them) with all the hermanas in the mission. I did one on Saturday, and it was way fun! I am so excited God has given me this opportunity to serve all the sisters who are serving here. They are all so amazing and inspire me so much!

Merry Christmas everyone!

Con amor,

Hermana Miclyn Noorda

Leave a Reply

