Week 50-Feb 22

Dear Family and Friends.

So apparently some of my emails didn`t go through last week, so if you didn`t get one from me, I am so sorry!

Anyways, here is a rundown of the week:

WE bounced all over the place and went to three training meetings, which were fun….and very long!

We also have been privileged to see some progress in some of our investigators – of that, we are very happy! They have been reading the things we leave them to read in pamphlets and in the Book of Mormon. One of our investigators even said she “loves our religion!”

I wanted to say “Really? Great. See you on Sunday at church!” Unfortunatly, she has a store that opens on Sundays, BUT she said it`s possible that she`ll be able to attend this Sunday.

Anyways, it`s amazing what the Spirit can do for us if we just LISTEN to it! In all of these lessons with investigators, we have been putting emphasis in listening to their fears and doubts and questions, and having the lesson really based on that. It has yielded great results. I have literally seen the promise of the Lord fulfilled when he says that our mouths will be filled with the words to say if we just listen to His spirit.

I also learned some cool things from the Book of Mormon this week.

For one, I was reading the story of the sons of Mosiah. These were the sons of a king, who did a lot of bad things. But these sons one day had a miraculous experience, and came to realize that they were being disobedient to God. They repented and changed their lives, and dedicated the rest of their days to preaching repentance and baptism to other people.

Well, after 14 years of preaching of Christ, they ran into one of their old pals, and together they rejoiced! In fact, Ammon was SO happy, that he fell down to the ground! It says:

“Now was not this exceeding joy? Behold, this is joy which none receiveth save it be the truly penitent and humble seeker of happintess” (Alma 27:18)

Penitent means truly repentant. I really loved this scripture because I can testify that it is true. When we see that we are being desobedient to God, we will first feel SAD. But, when we really truly leave behind our sins and ask God for foregiveness, and we become completly obedient to God and his commandments, THAT is when we become TRULY, COMPLETLY, and UTTERLY HAPPY.

Later, Alma, one of the friends of the sons of Mosiah, states

“I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in thatwhich the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands ofGod to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy.

10 And behold, when I see many of my brethren truly penitent, and coming to the Lord their God, then is my soul filled with joy; then do I remember what the Lord has done for me, yea, even that he hath heard my prayer; yea,then do I remember his merciful arm which he extended towards me” (Alma 29)

I testify that this is true. When I see people truly repenting, me included, I feel happy. And not just happy for a moment; I feel happy every day.

I was talking to my district leader this week (The mission in charge of the work in my area and a few others) and he told me that his last two baptism were references from members. He said that it was joyous to have the members present at the missionary lessons, and joyous that they could help their friends truly repent.

I want to encourage all of you to pray about someone you can invite to repent this week, someone who you can refer to the missionaries. I know that wea re surrounded by people ready to repent and change their lives, but WE have to be the once to invite them.

I love you all.

con amor,

Hermana Miclyn Noorda

Leave a Reply

