Week 51-Feb 29

Querido familiares y amigos,

¿Qué tal su semana? Ojalá que todo bien. Esta semana trabajamos muchísimo y hablamos con muchos.

I know you all just opened up google translate to figure out what I just said 🙂

Anyways, this week really was a pretty good week. One cool thing:

We got a reference from a member yesterday and went to visit a family with 5 kids. They seem pretty cool….a little shy, but they already went to church once about a year ago. I hope we can help them go again!

Another cool thing: We were feeling a little down because we worked SO hard to get people to come to church this week, but we passed by for one investigator and she was sick. Our other star investigators suddenly moved to another city (yes….we were pretty sad about that 😦 Well, we did everything we coudld to help another family go to church, but alas, our efforts weren´t quite enough. BUT one of our awesome members brought her less active sister and her 13 year old son, and we had a great lesson with him and his cousin and put a baptismal date with him. SO we are really praying that we´ll be able to help this family come back to church and hlep this kid be baptised. He´s very sweet, and I can see that he has desires to choose the right.

Which, there´s a lesson for you all. Bring your friends and families to church! They are more ready then you think.

As for my thought for this week:

I have been thinking about testimonies this week. A testimony is something we know through the Spirit of God. This Spirit is how God communicates with us, and can guide us towards following the commandments of God and doing his will, but also, it testifies of the truth.

For example, before the mission I wanted to know if the Book of Mormon was the word of God (in addition to the Bible). So, I began reading it again and I started praying that God will help me to know if it was true. After diligent study, one night, super late at night, I felt the urge to pray right then in the middle of my reading. I did, and I felt a warm peaceful burning feeling. I can´t really describe it, but I know that it was the Spirit of God testifying to me that the Book of Mormon is also his word.

So now I have a testimony of the Book of Mormon. BUT that doesn´t mean I will always have this testimony, this knowledge of its truth.

For instance, as a prophet (a man who recieves the will of God through revelation and communicates it to all the people on the earth) in the Book of Mormon said, relating a story of a family :

“Netherless, becasue those miracles were worked by small means it did show unto them marvelous works. They were slothful, and forgot to exercise their faith and diligence and then those marvelous works ceased, and they did not progresss in their journey; therefore, they tarried in the wilderness, or did not travel a direct course, and were afflicted with hunger and thirst, because of their transgressions.

43 And now, my son, I would that ye should understand
that these things are not without a shadow; for as our
fathers were slothful to give heed to this compass (now
these things were temporal) they did not prosper; even so
it is with things which are spiritual.

44 For behold, it is as easy to give heed to the word of
Christ, which will point to you a straight course to eternal
bliss, as it was for our fathers to give heed to this compass,
which would point unto them a straight course to the
promised land.”​

​I testify of this. The words of Christ lead us straight to “the promised land” or living with God and our families after this life. But it depends on our diligence and our faith. We must not forget the spiritual experiences that we have had in the past. We need to be diligent and continually read the scriptures and go to church so that we can continue learning things from the Spirit of God. ​

I love you all!

con amor,

Hermana Miclyn Noorda

Leave a Reply

