Week 57-April 11

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Me and my comps.

Dear Family and Friends,

SO I apologize, it has been a while. I was pretty busy, we had a few meetings to go to and then I had to pick classes for BYU, and all that cut into my email time. SO if you haven´t gotten a long letter from me lately, don´t be offended!

Anyways, this is the last week before transfers, and we´ll see where I am going to spend my last two transfers. If I stay here in Salado, I´ll be seeing my very first wedding here! Our awesome investigator is going to get married next Friday, and baptized on Saturday. She even came in the rain this week to church, with her slightly sick son, even though here, when it rains, NO ONE comes to church. Really. We only had half the members come this week.

Then, we are working with three other girls, two of which also went to church this Sunday during the rain.

YAYYYYY.

It´s been good to see this awesome success. I can really see how following the principles that Christ taught really change people. That´s how I know Christianity isn´t just a nice theory, and Christ wasn´t just a wise person. As humans, we can create a lot of things and learn a lot. But we can´t create the miracles that I have seen here. We just can´t do it. Only God can.

This week we are in Pedro Juan Cabellero, bordering Brazil. it´s really different here, but also very pretty!

Something I have learned this week:

God sent his son Jesus Christ to die for our sins, because our sins keep us from being close to God. God is pure and cannot tolerate anything that is not pure; we are not pure when we do things that are by nature bad or against the will of God. Therefore, we need to clean ourselves of what we have done bad, and we can only do that through Jesus Christ.

When he came here to the earth, immediately, we received the OPPORTUNITY to be clean from our sins. Two ways are set before us; follow God, or be disobedient.

“Behold, I set before you this day a blessing and a curse;

27 A blessing, if ye obey the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you this day:

28 And a curse, if ye will not obey the commandments of the Lord your God, but turn aside out of the way which I command you this day, to go after other gods, which ye have not known.” – Deuteronomy 11:26-28

The “other gods” mentioned in this verse from the Bible can be many things. It can be drugs, money, or worldly comforts. It can be aspiring to have be the most popular, the prettiest, or the best grades. It can be focusing having a boyfriend or girlfriend, or having an nice car.Whatever thing we put in front of obeying and adoring God can be an “other god”.

I testify with all my heart the message of this verse. If we don´t put God in first place, than we will never be fully happy. He will always love us, but He can´t take away the consequences of our choices when we sin, as “wickedness never was happiness” (Alma 41:10), until we decide to repent and leave behind our sins.

WE have the power to decide if we get the blessing of God, or the curse.

I encourage you all to choose the blessing and not the curse. Evaluate your life and see what God is trying to tell you that you need to change, so that you can be worthy of the blessing He desperately wants to give to YOU, His beloved child.

And if you´re still not sure if He exists, I invite you to live the principles that Christ taught during His lifetime. Go to church, read the scriptures, try to love everyone, repent, and try to have faith. Just do a test run. I promise you that your life will change, and you will know He lives just as I do.

Love, Miclyn

Leave a Reply

